Music Is My Medicine

Picture this: You wake up in the morning and realize that you overslept. You rush to get ready and slam your baby toe on the edge of the bed. Finally, you’re ready and you run outside to the car which is on a flat.

Everyone experiences a day like this every once and a while. Bad days are unavoidable. The question is: How do you remedy a day like this? The answer (for me at least): MUSIC!  The most beautiful thing about this melodic medicine is that you don’t need a doctor to write-up a prescription. You don’t need to worry about rations and waiting 6 hours in between dosages. When it comes to music, you can audibly ingest as much of it as you want.

As simple as this remedy sounds, its extremely effective. And it’s nothing new. Just think about it – is there any point in your life when music didn’t exist? Aight…stop thinking so hard. That was a rhetorical question. I already know the answer. The point that I’m making is that music is older than anybody reading this post right now. And it will be here long after we’re gone. Which, again, shows the beauty of it all. It’s timeless. It’s not confined to your block, your city, your state, or your country. It’s global. It doesn’t need FDA approval. And thanks to the internet, it can be consumed in more ways than ever before. Your bad day in Chicago can be cured by musical medicine provided from the Netherlands. A bad mood in Johannesburg can be fixed by the latest Lil Wayne mixtape.

If you’re anything like me, you have a few “go-to” songs/albums/artists to cure different symptoms. Curing a case of the boredoms requires a different approach than trying to cure a bad day. Whatever the sickness…there’s a cure! Don’t believe me? Aight. Let me give you some examples of my “go-to” fixes:

Up early getting ready for work – Mos Def “Umi Say” or anything off of the Ecstatic

Saturday afternoon cleaning up – Anything from the catalog of Jill Scott, Erykah Badu, or Eric Roberson

Saturday night getting ready to hit the streets – Anything from the T.I. catalog, Plies “I Get Plenty Money” (I can’t front…I’m not a fan, but that song gets me charged up), and a few other hood classics

Sunday morning headed to church (or whenever I just need a spiritual lift) – Kirk Franklin “He’s Able” or “The Storm is Over Now”, Onitsha “This One”, Jonathan Nelson “My Name is Victory”, and Robin Thicke “2 the Sky”

3am on Lake Shore Drive headed to the crib – Cee-Lo “Cee-Lo Green is the Soul Machine” album, The Roots “Do You Want More?!?!” album, or Lauryn Hill “The Mis-Education of Lauryn Hill” album

Feeling homesick (What up Chicago!!) – Twista “Adrenaline Rush”, Kanye West “College Dropout”, Common “One Day It’ll All Make Sense”

I think ya’ll get my point. And, honestly, it never fails. I understand how contagious a bad mood can be. I also understand that a smile can be just as viral. Find that medicine. Find that cure. It won’t only make your day/mood better, but through your “health” the people around you will feel better. Some people might say, “But, it’s just music”. And that couldn’t be further from the truth. It’s more than just music. Something about that beat…or those lyrics…is like a band-aid for the soul. Don’t underestimate the power of it all. What’s your medicine?

– Gee O

3 thoughts on “Music Is My Medicine

  1. good stuff my dude. that Umi says makes me feel like i can do anything..lol it makes me wanna attack the day ya dig..but the article is dope and u and i have some of the same musical tastes. keep doing yo thing kid..

  2. My “I need a lift” go-to song is “God is Able” by Smokie Norful. That song gives me all I need!!!

    Kudos on the post, young grasshopper lol

  3. Umi Say is DEFINITELY a workout song for me. Once on the treadmill it puts me right in the zone. It get’s the repeat switch quite often. Good post cousin!

Leave a Reply

