Two’s Day: Two For Potential

Confession: I’m a serial hoarder of potential. I store it up and live off the recognition that it does exist. I wear it like a “Hello, my name is…” sticker. And even if I don’t have the name tag on, the stench follows me wherever I go. People recognize and acknowledge it. And I use that acknowledgement as fuel…to keep potential on me at all times. Sounds crazy, right? I know.

Potential has proven to be both a gift and a curse. Don’t get me wrong, having it is awesome. It signifies future promise and progression. But having too much of it (stored up and unused) for too long signifies procrastination and a lack of vision relating to your purpose.

So what does all this mean? The answer is fairly simple: Move! Do something. Because doing something is far better than the alternative. Make a move. Move away from fear. Move towards your dreams. Listen to the compass that is your heart and move where it guides you. If you fail, so be it. Make another move. This isn’t like the video games where you run out of moves or have to collect thousands of digital coins to cash in for more moves. As long as you have breath to breathe, you have a move to make. Take that potential you’ve been hoarding and turn it into promotion. Allow it to escape that cocoon of uncertainty and fear and spread its wings. Allow it to take flight! Allow the beauty of your potential to be seen and admired.

Happy Two’s Day and cheers to your (and my) potential.

Mos Def – Umi Say

“…tomorrow may never appear. You better hold this very moment very close to you…don’t be afraid to let it shine”

The Roots ft. John Legend – The Fire

“You can’t escape the history that you were meant to make…”

What’s on your playlist?

10 thoughts on “Two’s Day: Two For Potential

  1. Potential is one of those things that can make or break you… Kind of like wanting to play the lotto… The fact that you may lose is discouraging, but then again, what if you WIN? You wont know until you put yourself out there, no? Bad example probably, but an example nonetheless. I tend to release my potential just a little bit at a time. It could be fear or it could be laziness, who knows. Anywho, my playlist BLASTS Bon Jovi- It’s My Life. “It’s my life and it’s now or never cuz I ain’t gonna live forever I just want to live while I’m alive” It’s a type of YOLO but it makes more sense! LOL

  2. Great post!! Umi Say is definitely in heavy rotation. Silent Treatment by the Roots gets great play as well. Might not be the best song for potential, but helps me remember what (or who for that matter) needs to get silent treatment for me to move forward.

  3. Great post and great timing! I think fear is always the obstacle to fulfilling your true purpose and potential. Sometimes I think there’s more fear in something actually working than it not…crazy I know. But I gotta go gospel for my playlist. Encourage Yourself gets me going every time!

    1. Thanks for checking out the post and for the comment! The notion of fearing success isn’t crazy at all. There have been times where I’ve feared succeeding far more than failing. It can be crippling. And ‘Encourage Yourself’ is one of my favorite gospel songs! Great addition to the playlist.

Leave a Reply

